Drumroll, Please: Announcing the Man Booker Prize Shortlist

The shortlisted authors for the Man Group’s annual Man Booker Prize for Fiction were revealed this morning in London. This year’s six nominees are Tom McCarthy, Marlon James, Chigozie Obioma, Sunjeev Sahota, Anne Tyler, and Hanya Yanagihara. The list of authors marks the most culturally diverse roster yet. 

A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James  

The Fishermen by Chigozie Obioma

The Year of the Runaways by Sunjeev Sahota

A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler

A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

Satin Island by Tom McCarthy

These authors have all brought wonderful novels to the table. Jamaican author Marlon James makes the list for his novel A Brief History of Seven Killings, and is the first from his country to make the shortlist. 28-year-old Chigozie Obioma, author of debut book The Fishermen, is also distinct on the list for being the youngest of the group. Sunjeev Sahota is on the shortlist for The Year of the Runaways, which received high praise from Salman Rushdie. Anne Tyler’s A Spool of Blue Thread is another strong candidate, but Hanya Yanagihara is the favorite for her smash hit A Little Life.

The only one of the six authors to have been previously nominated is Londoner Tom McCarthy, who was on the 2010 list for his novel C. He’s back again for Satin Island. Even with all these differences, the selected novels share common ground in their serious and dramatic tones. Chair of judges Michael Wood said each of the authors had “terrific arguments…violent but friendly.” Though only one of the authors will get the £50,000 grand prize, all six will get £2,500 and a specially bound version of their book just for being shortlisted. 

Are you rooting for one of these authors? Sound off in the comments.

Featured image courtesy of The Guardian