Bookstr’s Three to Read This Week 01/31/20

Calling on all bookworms! This week’s been pretty cold and all we can think about is snuggling with our soft blanket and escaping into a really exciting book. Agree? Well…

 

Check out Bookstr’s Three to Read, the three books we’ve picked for you to read this week!

HOT PICK

shall we dance?

by Shelley Shepard Gray

 

Synopsis:

At twenty-seven, Shannon Murphy has just discovered that she has two sisters she never knew. Now, through Shannon’s loving persistence, the three of them are moving in together above her dance studio in Bridgeport. Shannon is excited to make a home with her sisters and to grow her budding business. Then she meets her newest client — he has all the right muscles, a perfect smile, and a lot of attitude. Will Shannon be able to keep things professional with this charming stranger?

Dylan Lange has a lot on his mind. He’s just been assigned a new partner at his job with the Bridgeport Police, and while he’s busy striving to protect and serve his town, he’s also trying to keep his baby sister out of harm’s way while she heals from her own trauma. And on top of everything else, he’s gone and lost a bet with his buddies, forcing him to take dance lessons. But when he walks into the dance studio to meet his instructor, a young and beautiful brunette with a sweet southern drawl is the last person he expected to find.

Get ready to fall in love again as Shelley Shepard Gray takes us back to Bridgeport, Ohio, where nobody gets left behind and a powerful community helps ordinary men and women to find extraordinary strength inside themselves.

 

Why?

As usual, New York Times Bestselling author, Shelley Shepard Gray, draws us in with another addictive series! The way she portrays her characters, makes you feel their authenticity and uniqueness. This heartfelt story is all about family, friendships, love, and support. With romance, a bit of suspense, and a couple of twists and turns, this book is bound to keep you on edge. It’s the perfect start to a series that leaves you impatiently waiting  for the next book. Publishers Weekly praises this book saying, “A cozy first installment of the Dance with Me series…Gray draws readers in from the first page with charming small-town atmosphere and magnetic, well-developed characters. This lighthearted love story will appeal to genre fans who appreciate sweet, PG-13 romances.”

 

Coffee Shop read

Strange exit

by Parker Peevyhouse

 

 

Synopsis:

Strange Exit is Parker Peevyhouse’s next suspenseful, near-future, stand-alone thriller, perfect for fans of Kass Morgan’s The 100 and Patrick Ness’s More Than This

Seventeen-year-old Lake spends her days searching a strange, post-apocalyptic landscape for people who have forgotten one very important thing: this isn’t reality. Everyone she meets is a passenger aboard a ship that’s been orbiting Earth since a nuclear event. The simulation that was supposed to prepare them all for life after the apocalypse has trapped their minds in a shared virtual reality and their bodies in stasis chambers.

No one can get off the ship until all of the passengers are out of the sim, and no one can get out of the sim unless they believe it’s a simulation. It’s up to Lake to help them remember.

When Lake reveals the truth to a fellow passenger, seventeen-year-old Taren, he joins her mission to find everyone, persuade them that they’ve forgotten reality, and wake them up. But time’s running out before the simulation completely deconstructs, and soon Taren’s deciding who’s worth saving and who must be sacrificed for the greater good. Now, Lake has no choice but to pit herself against Taren in a race to find the secret heart of the sim, where something waits that will either save them or destroy them all.

 

Why?

Coffee and a thriller? How could we say no? I mean that’s like two of our favorite things! So, if the title of this book grabbed your attention, wait till you read the synopsis. Peevyhouse does an excellent job at building a captivating world and bringing everything to life. You’ll embark on an exciting experience, full of simulations and challenges. You’ll feel like you’ve been transported into the novel, with the use of vivid imagery. With each chapter, the anticipation and excitement increases. It’s just the sort of novel you won’t be able to put down. All we can say is it’s a mind-blowing gripping thriller, that’ll need a big mug of coffee because you won’t be going anywhere until you finish the book. Booklist glorifies this book saying, “The tension increases with each layer of reality Lake peels away. Compulsively readable.”

 

dARK horse

The committee

by Sterling Watson

 

 

Synopsis:

In the late 1950s, Gainesville, Florida, seems to be a sleepy university town. Its residents live, by outward appearances, ordinary lives. And yet the town is far from ordinary. The most private acts of professors, students, townspeople rich and poor, and politicians are under the close scrutiny of a shadowy group of men–the Committee–who use the powers of government and the police to investigate, threaten, and control this increasingly fearful community.

The Committee pits friends against friends and threatens careers and lives in a struggle for the soul of a town, a university, and an ideal. Based on actual historical events and set against the backdrop of political, cultural, and class turmoil, this is a story of love–both licit and hidden–war, friendship, betrayal, compromise, and finally the necessity to stand firm against the encroachments upon freedom by men who believe they are doing God’s and the government’s righteous work.

 

Why?

History lovers, this book is for you! Based on actual historical events, this novel enters the realm of historical fiction, as it takes you back to the late 1950s. Watson’s portrayal of that time is so real and accurate, you’ll feel like you’ve lived it. If this isn’t the dream of every history lover, then we don’t know what is! It’s a well-written story with many layers, that Watson skillfully peels away in each and every chapter. Kirkus Reviews appraises this book saying, “Watson does an excellent job of portraying a time, place, and culture without assigning contemporary values where they didn’t exist…The dialogue is realistic, and the pacing, especially toward the end, is quick and intense. Any reader wanting a history lesson wrapped in a compelling, believable novel will find much to contemplate here.”

 

IMAGES VIA AMAZON


Bookstr is community supported. If you enjoy Bookstr’s articles, quizzes, graphics and videos, please join our Patreon to support our writers and creators or donate to our Paypal and help Bookstr to keep supporting the book loving community.
Become a Patron!