image

Book Picks for Black Friday: Part 2

Black Friday is officially here! Be sure to check out some of TheReadingRoom’s picks below. From popular Young Adult fiction like Isla and the Happily Ever After to cookbooks like The Skinnytaste Cookbook, everyone will be a be able to curl up with a good book to start the holiday season off right. Add all of our favorites to your bookshelf here!

Don’t forget about our Black Friday Sale! Sign up for TheReadingRoom and use promo code: TRRBF at check out to get 30% OFF and FREE SHIPPING site wide on Friday, November 28! 

killing patton

 

Killing Patton by Bill O’Reilly and Martin Dugard

From Bill O’Reilly, author of Killing Lincoln and more, comes the story of General Patton’s mysterious death in the months following World War II. O’Reilly investigates suspicion that the death may not have been an accident, but an assassination. This is definitely a must-read for war and history fans alike.

 

 

the escape

 

The Escape by David Baldacci

The latest in the John Puller series, David Baldacci tells a new story that not even Puller’s experience and training will prepare him for. Puller’s brother, Robert, has escaped from prison, and it’s up to him to track him down. His brother was convicted of treason and national security crimes—but is there more to the story? This thriller will have you racing through the pages!

 


the andy cohen diariesThe Andy Cohen Diaries
by Andy Cohen

Popular host and producer of Bravo’s Watch What Happens Live, Andy Cohen, takes readers through one year of his life. If you’re a fan of reality television, this name-dropping autobiography is sure to appeal to you! His honest and truly funny book is a great read.

 

 

big little liesBig Little Lies by Liane Moriarty

Big Little Lies follows three mothers six months before the untimely death of a fellow parent. Madeline still resents her daughter’s father who abandoned them fourteen years ago, Celeste is hiding “ugly” secrets, and single mother Jane is often mistaken for the nanny. This Australian novel about secrets and lies is a great work of fiction.

 

 

the paying guestsThe Paying Guests by Sarah Waters

Sarah Waters takes readers back to London in 1922, where ex-servicemen are out of work and frustrated. In a South London villa, life is about to transform for widow and her spinster daughter, Frances, when they are obligated to take in lodgers Lilian and Leonard Barber. This work of historical fiction will keep you entertained as it is part love story, part crime story.

 

 

what ifWhat If? by Randall Munroe

Creator of the xkcd.com webcomic that provides answers to even the most absurd questions now has a book. Questions from “How fast can you hit a speed bump while driving and live?” to “If there was a robot apocalypse, how long would humanity last?” are answered using everything from computer simulations to declassified military research memos. Now, you can get never-before-answered questions all in one place!

 

dad is fatFood: A Love Story by Jim Gaffigan

This hilarious book addresses America’s most treasured foods and Gaffigan’s “culinary” insights. The author of Dad is Fat shares ideas like his opinion that pretzel bread is the third most important invention of humankind (just behind the wheel and the computer) and that coconut water was invented so people would stop drinking coconut water. The comedian’s take on food culture is sure to make anyone laugh out loud.

 

 

flesh and bloodFlesh and Blood by Patricia Cornwell

Patricia Cornwell’s 22nd Scarpetta novel follows Dr. Kay Scarpetta as she investigates a series of deaths by a serial sniper who leaves no evidence except for copper fragments. Having no idea where the sniper might strike next, she follows the killer to South Florida where she finds evidence that implicates her niece, Lucy—her own “flesh and blood”. This is a great addition to the series that all crime and mystery fans will appreciate!

 

The Skinnytaste CookbookThe Skinnytaste Cookbook by Gina Homolka

Although the turkey eating may be over, the holidays have just begun! Eat well and feel less guilty with recipes from The Skinnytaste Cookbook. Homolka’s alternative to Weight Watchers, she created Skinnytaste when trying to lose her baby weight and still eat decadent food. With 150 amazing recipes, there’s something for every palate!

 

islaIsla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

Stephanie Perkins takes readers to New York City, where Isla runs into Josh—her classmate from the School of America in Paris. After the summer and back in Paris, Josh and Isla confront a challenge many high school seniors do: the possibility of being apart. This Young Adult novel features appearances by other fan-favorites and readers are sure to delight in the conclusion of her series.

 

 

the 14th goldfishThe Fourteenth Goldfish by Jennifer L. Holm

This delightful novel explores science like you probably never have before. When a new boy shows up in eleven-year old Ellie’s class and looks like her grandfather she wonders if it could be him? He is obsessed with immortality like Grandpa Melvin was. Is it possible he finally discovered eternal youth? The world of science and possibility are discovered in this wonderful novel.

 

 

the wild truth

 

The Wild Truth by Carine McCandless

Chris McCandless, who was depicted in John Krakauer’s Into the Wild, didn’t just leave home for Alaska. His sister explains in her new book that there is much more to the story than previously thought. The McCandless’ suffered a violent and dysfunctional family that made Chris give away his money and leave for the wilderness. This is a great story for fans of Into the Wild and McCandless’ story in general.

Share this: