image

BEA Picks: Historical and Literary Fiction

Following on from our BookExpo America crime and mystery choices, here are our picks from the literary and historical fiction fiction genres.

Literary Fiction BEA Literary Fiction In Delicious Foods, James Hannaham wrestles with the timeless questions of love and freedom. One of Britain’s most accomplished and acclaimed writers delivers a brilliant collection of contemporary short stories that demonstrate what modern England has become. In The Assassination of Margaret Thatcher, Hilary Mantel’s trademark prose is once again fully on display as she brutally and acutely writes about gender, marriage, class, family, and sex. Historical Fiction

Historical Fiction

Jessie Burton makes her debut with The Miniaturist, a story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth, set in seventeenth century Amsterdam. Fans of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant are sure to love this. The Undertaking by Audrey Magee is shortlisted for the Baileys Women’s Prize, and tells the intimate story of a war marriage caught up in the calamity of World War II. Described by our community as “tense, gripping and engaging” and “an excellent and memorable début novel,” this is not to be missed. Laird Hunt’s dazzling new novel Neverhome retains the gorgeous prose he is renowned for, and turns the spotlight on an adventurous farmer’s wife who chooses to leave her husband to don the uniform of a Union soldier in the Civil War. Simon McDonald simon@thereadingroom.com