Baileys Womens Prize for Fiction Shortlist Announced

Congratulations to the six talented ladies shortlisted for the 2016 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction. The prestigious prize is awarded annually in celebration of “excellence, originality and accessibility in writing by women from throughout the world,” for the best original full-length novel written in English. 

The first Baileys Women’s Prize was set up and awarded in 1996 after a band of women and men in the literary world noted the lack of literary prizes awarded to women, despite their literary achievements. In response, the Baileys Women’s Prize was born to honor the wonderful women of fiction throughout the world, and to get their names known. In her statement about the prize, Kate Mosse, a novelist and playwright as well as the Co-Founder and Chair of the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction Board, commends the prize for not only celebrating women authors, but also for being “truly international.”

This year’s shortlist includes three debut novels as well as one previously shortlisted author. Here’s a look at the shortlisted work:

Ruby by Cynthia Bond


The Green Road by Anne Enright


The Glorious Heresies by Lisa McInerney


The Portable Veblen by Elizabeth McKenzie


The Improbability of Love by Hannah Rothschild


A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara


If you are lucky enough to be in London, you can catch the shortlist reading on Tuesday, June 7th (check it out here).  The exciting announcement of the prize winner is to be made on Wednesday, June 8th.

Featured image courtesy of