Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards Honor Literature That Confronts Racism and Examines Diversity

2016 marks the 81st year of the Anisfield-Wolf Awards which “recognize books that make important contributions to our understanding of racism and cultural diversity.” Previous winners of the award include such distinguished authors as Toni Morrison, Langston Hughes, and Rev. Martin Luther King Jr. Here are this year’s prize winners: 



The Gay Revolution: The Story of the Struggle by Lilliam Faderman



What the Eye Hears: A History of Tap Dancing by Brian Seibert




The Jazz Palace by Mary Morris




Heaven by Rowan Ricardo Phillips


For a deeper look at each author and their work, check out the Anisfield-Wolf book award website.

Author, historian, and cultural sociologist Orlando Patterson, known for his in-depth studies of race in the United States, will receive the Anisfield-Wolf Lifetime Achievement award. Anisfield-Wolf highlights his recently released book, The Cultural Matrix: Understanding Black Youtha study of the socio-economic and cultural infuences that have shaped America’s black youth. All winners will be honored at the Anisfield-Wolf gala awards ceremony on September 15, 2016 at the Ohio Theatre in Cleveland, OH. The ceremony will be hosted by the Cleveland Foundation and Dr. Henry Gates Jr. (with a book signing afterwards).  


If you can make it, try to snag tickets starting in July – they are free!