2015 Man Booker Prize Longlist Released

The Man Booker Prize’s 2015 longlist has been announced! Thirteen books have been chosen to compete for the United Kingdom’s most prestigious fiction prize. This year’s version includes three debut efforts, five American writers, and one former winner.

Marilynne Robinson headlines the American contingent, which also includes literary agent Bill Clegg. Clegg is known for his tough negotiating as well as his memoirs, which detail his battles with substance abuse. Clegg’s novel, Did You Ever Have a Family, is his fiction debut.

The only prior winner on the list is Anne Enright. Enright won the Man Booker in 2007 for The Gathering. She makes the longlist cut this time for The Green Road.

The Man Booker Prize is given annually to a novel written in English. The award was originally limited to authors from the Commonwealth (which includes the United Kingdom and former territories like Canada and Australia – nations which still recognize the Queen and have other ties to the UK). Starting with last year’s contest, however, the rules changed and the prize organizers made American authors eligible. The fiction prize is worth £50,000, or a little over $78,000 US.


Check out the full list below:

Did You Ever Have a Family by Bill Clegg

The Green Road by Anne Enright

A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James

The Moor’s Account by Laila Lalami

Satin Island by Tom McCarthy

The Fishermen by Chigozie Obioma

The Illuminations by Andrew O’Hagan

Lila by Marilynne Robinson

Sleeping on Jupiter by Anuradha Roy

The Year of the Runaways by Sunjeev Sahota

The Chimes by Anna Smaill

A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler

A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara