2015 Longlist Announced for Baileys Womens Prize in Fiction

The longlist for the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction has been released! Shami Chakrabarti, this year’s chair of judges, announced the list on Monday. According to the The Guardian, Chakrabarti believes we are “still nowhere near where we should be” when it comes to recognition of women’s literature. She also stated, “We need to celebrate women generally and there’s nothing more powerful than stories. We need to celebrate stories by women, for women, as just one more way to redress gender injustice.” 

The long list includes 20 novels by female authors in a wide range of topics and styles. Anne Tyler is the most veteran author to make the list, qualifying with her 20th career book, while several debut authors have also made the longlist. The prize was created in response to the ongoing underrepresentation of women in literary prizes after the Booker prize judges’ failed to shortlist a single book by a female author in 1991. The award is worth £30,000 (about $45,000).

Here is the longlist:

Outline by Rachel Cusk

Crooked Heart by Lissa Evans

Aren’t We Sisters? by Patricia Ferguson

I Am China by Xiaolu Guo

Dear Thief by Samantha Harvey

Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey

Station Eleven by Emily St John Mandel

The Offering by Grace McCleen

The Country of Ice Cream Star by Sandra Newman

The Girl Who Was Saturday Night by Heather O’Neill

The Bees by Laline Paull

The Table of Less Valued Knights by Marie Phillips

The Walk Home by Rachel Seiffert

A God in Every Stone by Kamila Shamsie

How to be Both by Ali Smith

The Shore by Sara Taylor

A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler

The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters

After Before by Jemma Wayne

The Life of a Banana by P.P. Wong

The shortlist will be announced on April 13th, followed by the winner on June 3rd.

Have you read any of these books? Sound off in the comments!