2015 Andrew Carnegie Winners Announced

The Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction & Nonfiction have been awarded to authors Anthony Doerr and Bryan Stevenson.

Doerr received the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction for his novel, All the Light We Cannot See. The book also won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction and has spent over 38 weeks on the New York Times Bestseller list for hardcover fiction. All the Light We Cannot See follows a blind French girl and German boy whose lives intertwine during World War II.

Stevenson follows suit, winning the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction for his book, Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption. Stevenson’s book was also a New York Times Bestseller and a winner of the NAACP Image Award for Nonfiction. Just Mercy examines the reality of inequalities within the criminal justice system and Stevenson’s personal pursuit of justice as a lawyer.

These awards were created in 2012 in order to distinguish the best adult fiction and nonfiction books published in the year prior to the award. The winners are selected by a committee of library professionals who have experience with adult readers.

Have you read either of these books? Tell us what you think in the comments!

Images courtesy of (left) (top middle) (bottom middle) and (right)