13 Books Longlisted for Man Booker International Prize

Congratulations to the 13 international authors whose books have been long listed for the Man Booker International Prize, a £50,000 award “celebrating the finest in global fiction.” This year’s longlist of the “Man Booker Dozen” (yes, it is made up of 13 books) is comprised of two previous finalists, two debut authors, and two Noble Prize winners. The prize honors literary fiction translated into English. The Man Booker Prize website stated that the award aims “to encourage more publishing and reading of quality work in translation” and to acknowledge the importance of translated work, international authors, and translators. The prize will go to one work of fiction, and the monetary award will be divided between the author and translator. 

The longlisted works are written in nine different languages and come from 12 countries. Five judges sifted through 155 books before deciding on the longlisted titles.  Authors include: Italian native Elena Ferrante, who’s Neopolitan Novels are being adapted into an Italian TV series; 1994 Nobel Prize for Literature winner Kenzabur? ?e from Japan; and, Turkish author and Noble Prize winner Orphan Pamuk.  

The Booker Prize Foundation joined forces with the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize; the award is now given annually, as opposed to once every two years, in an effort to “encourage more publishing and reading of quality fiction in translation.”  


Take a look at the 13 works of fiction that made the longlist: 

A Cup of Rage by Raduan Nassar



A General Theory of Oblivion by José Eduardo Agualusa



A Strangeness in My Mind by Orphan Pamuk 


A Whole Life by Robert Seethaler 



Death by Water by Kenzabur? ?e 



Ladivine by Marie NDiaye 


 Man Tiger by Eka Kurniawan



Mend the Living by Maylis de Kerangal 



The Four Books by Yan Lianke



The Story of the Lost Child by Elena Ferrante



The Vegetarian by Han Kang 



Tram 83 by Fiston Mwanza Mujila  



White Hunger by Aki Ollikainen 



The shortlist of six books will be announced on April 14. Each author and translator will receive £1,000, and the winner of the 2016 prize will be announced on May 16.