image

12 Books To Read If You Loved “The Fault In Our Stars”

 

By Simon McDonald, Editorial Manager | simon@thereadingroom.com

You’ve read The Fault in Our Stars. You’ve seen the film. You’re read John Green’s other novels, and the spines of your paperbacks are now irrepairably cracked.

So what’s next? We’re compiled a list of 12 books fans of The Fault in Our Stars might also enjoy. These are books that will make you laugh, cry and appreciate life.

1. The Probability of Miracles by Wendy Wunder

9781595144805Campbell Cooper has never been in love, and if the prognosis of her doctor is correct, she’ll never have the chance. Campbell needs a miracle, so her family moves thousands of miles north to Promise, Main – where unexplainable events are said to occur. Soon a mysterious envelope arrives, containing a list of things for Cam to do before she dies. And so, a dying teen learns to live in this heart-wrenching debut.

2. This Star Won’t Go Out: The Life & Words of Esther Grace Earl by Esther Earl, with Lori Earl and Wayne Earl

9780525426363A collection of the journals, fiction, letters, and sketches of the late Esther Grace Earl, who passed away in 2010 at the age of 16, and to whom John Green dedicated his novel The Fault in Our Stars.

“One of those reads that puts a lot of things into perspective. Reading this makes me admire not only Esther but also her parents, who buried their middle child and still receive messages of love for her every day, years later. They kept a promise to Esther with this book chronicling her life.” 1girl2manybooks

3. The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

9780062217141In one spectacular night, a reckless driver shattered Ezra Faulkner’s knee, his athletic career, and his social life. In an instant, Ezra went from Homecoming King front-runner to social misfit. Then he meets a new girl, Cassidy Thorpe, who is unlike anyone Ezra has ever met. But after already experiencing one major tragedy, how will Ezra respond to more misfortune?

4. Me Before You by JoJo Moyes

9780143124542What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

Louisa Clark was an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary, who had barely been farther afield than their tiny village, until she took a job working for Will Traynor – who had always lived life to the extreme until an accident left him confined to a wheelchair, and is certain  he cannot continue on. Will is moody and bossy, and generally unpleasant – but Louisa refuses to treat him with kids gloves, and is determined to show him that life is still worth living.

“Shockingly ambitious, daring, tear-jerking, gut-wrenching, life-inspiring writing.” – Chip94

“Utterly unputdownable, this is a story of epic proportions.” – BookMusterDownUnder

Check out all 12