2017 winners of the arab american book awards

11th Annual Arab American Book Awards Lift Up Community’s Voices

Since its inception in 2006, the Arab American Book Awards have been raising awareness of accomplished American authors of Arab descent. The committee, based out of the prominent Arab community of Dearborn, Michigan, recently released the names of its chosen recipients.


The winner of the Fiction category was Rabih Alameddine’s “The Angel of History,” the tale of a gay Yemenite poet navigating death amid the AIDS crisis in San Francisco. Alameddine had won two years previously for “An Unnecessary Woman.”


the angel of history cover

Image courtesy of Goodreads


Hayan Charara, meanwhile, nabbed two prizes: one in poetry for “Something Sinister” and a YA/children honorable mention for the picture book “The Three Lucys.” The non-fiction winner was “Inter/Nationalism: Decolonizing Native America and Palestine” by Steven Salaita.


something sinister cover

Image courtesy of Amazon


The awards ceremony will be held Oct. 7 at the Arab American National Museum in Dearborn.


Featured image courtesy of Arab American National Museum