Skip to main content
Fantasy Books

5 New Fantasy Books to Scratch Your 'Game of Thrones' Itch

Your new favorite books are here

With season eight officially in production 'Game of Thrones' we are more eager to get our fantasy fix than ever. Since we have to wait over a year to actually see what the final season of everybody's favorite show has to offer, we decided to catch up on the best fantasy fiction novels. Here's a list of five novels that will keep the magic and mystery flowing this fall.

 

1. The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter by Theodora Goss 

 

The Strange Case of the Alchemist's Daughter

Image Via Amazon

 

Theodora Goss introduces her fantasy mashup of known literary monsters. The novel centers around Mary Jekyll after her father's passing. She discovers that her father was a part of a secret society of mad-scientists. Jekyll teams up with Hyde's daughter, Diana, Sherlock Holmes, Dr. Watson, Justine Frankenstein, Beatrice Rappaccini, and Catherine Moreau. Amazon says, "based on some of literature’s horror and science fiction classics, this is the story of a remarkable group of women who come together to solve the mystery of a series of gruesome murders—and the bigger mystery of their own origins." 

 

 

2. The Axe and the Throne by M.D. Ireman 

 

The Axe and the Throne

Image Via Amazon

 

This is the first book of Ireman's trilogy that has shocked the fantasy world. Chris of Best Epic Fantasy says, "This book will offend, frustrate, sadden, and shock you, and then it will reward you. ...An absolute killer that everyone needs in their collection." Tallos heads north against his wife's wishes, in search of the corpses of his friend's oldest sons who have been taken by the Northmen. Once Tallos gets there he finds something far worse. This fantasy book is a must read for those who love epic twists and surprises. 

 

 

3. Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza

 

Empress of a Thousand Skies

Image Via Goodreads 

 

This young adult fantasy debut novel explores a galaxy in peril as the planets are on the brink of war. Rhee, the only living heir to her families dynasty, will stop at nothing to reclaim her throne. She works alongside refugee, Aly, to save the galaxy. Amazon says, "Rhoda Belleza crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, warfare, and the true meaning of legacy in this exhilarating debut, perfect for readers of Marissa Meyer's Lunar Chronicles and Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman's Illuminae Files."

 

 

4. Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

 

Strange the Dreamer

Image Via Amazon 

 

Amazon says, "What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? And who is the blue-skinned goddess who appears in Lazlo's dreams? In this sweeping and breathtaking novel by National Book Award finalist Laini Taylor, author of the New York Times bestselling Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy, the shadow of the past is as real as the ghosts who haunt the citadel of murdered gods. Fall into a mythical world of dread and wonder, moths and nightmares, love and carnage. The answers await in Weep."

 

 

5. Gilded Cage by Vic James

 

Gilded cage

 Image Via Goodreads 

 

James creates a world where some are blessed with magic and others are not. Those who have powers make up the powerful elite, while those who do not must be slaves to the elite for ten years of their life. This book explores the lives of the powerful Jardines and the ordinary Hadleys. When the Hadleys are meant to serve the Jardines, their lives intertwine and they discover important life lessons together. Once you've finished reading you have until February 6, 2018 until the second book of the series, Tarnished City. 

 

 

Feature Image Via Amazon